lemon-honey madeleines & testing

It’s that time of the year again when students across the country are beginning to stress about finals. For high school students specifically, of course, it’s AP exam testing followed by finals followed by regents…and then, deep breath, summer vacation.

AP testing has started, with AP Psychology. And then AP Language and Composition. Finally AP US History…

I can wait for AP US History, thanks.

You would think that the weekend before AP testing (APUSH, omg) I’d be cramming as much as I possibly could into my head…nah. I mean, I literally pulled an all-nighter last Thursday to finish a 20 page AP US History term paper. I think I deserve a little break. (To be honest, AP Psych and AP Lang & Comp weren’t that bad.)

I was actually going to make macarons, until I remembered that my poor madeleine pan was rusting away (figuratively). I’ve used it maybe once or twice since I’ve bought it two years ago. Oops. Also, I broke my oven while baking for a contest. Yeah. Go me. (Don’t ask, and I won’t tell. Ask, and I won’t tell anyways.)

Also, I have around four..or so recipes just waiting to be posting. I know I’ve been lagging, and I’m sorry for that!! Forgive me as I wallow in shame. 。:゚(。ノω\。)゚・。

madeleines final

The first time I made madeleines, I have to admit, they weren’t really my thing. I dunno. Even though the crumb was fine and they were aesthetically pleasing, they were dry and not that good. I was turned off of them, which would explain why I haven’t really made any in the recent months.

After looking at several new recipes, though, I decided to give them a try again. The difference this time was that I 1. used melted butter and added it at the end, 2. whisked the eggs until pale and fluffy, and 3. refrigerated the batter before I baked them. They came out deeeeeeeeeeeeeeelicious!!

There are so many possibilities for madeleines! You can sub in orange for the lemon (the original recipe calls for oranges, but I thought I’d try lemon instead), you can add lavender, you can glaze them or dip them in chocolate or even make a plain/flavored simple syrup and brush it over the madeleines while still hot..take charge and be creative! Orange and chocolate would be delicious. Maybe next time, huh? Or you could make a basil simple syrup…hm. Yep. Definitely next time.

This time, though, since I was re-attacking these little rascals, I decided to stick with plain ones (lemon does not count ok).

The only difference from the original recipe is that I cut the sugar and used lemons.

First, you’re going to make the brown butter. It’s much easier to do this in a pan where you can see the bottom, so it’ll be obvious if it’s burning or not. Medium-low flame!! Melt the butter. It’ll begin to foam as the water evaporates. Be careful, as it does splash a bit. Do as I say and not as I do, yes? After extreme foaming and/or bubbling, the foam will subside and the milk solids will begin to brown. Make sure to swirl it constantly so it doesn’t burn. When it turns a pale golden-brown, remove from heat and place it onto a cool surface immediately. It’ll continue to brown once off the flame. (I forgot to take pictures here, I was too focused on not burning the butter.)

I added the honey and lemon zest and juice to the brown butter mixture, just because the retained heat would melt the honey and make it easier to mix in to the rest of the batter.
Pro tip: when measuring honey, spray whatever you’re using with cooking spray. It’ll glide out like a dream.

Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt into another bowl.

In a third bowl, beat the eggs and sugar until pale and fluffy. It’ll be thick and ribbony. No, don’t eat that. No. Seriously. Stop it. That’s kinda nasty. At least wait for the rest of the batter. Add in the vanilla extract. Carefully mix in the flour mix, followed by the butter mix. Refrigerate for 1-3 hours.

madeleine process

Preheat the oven and grease and flour your pan(s).

madeleine pan

Fill, bake, cool, consume, enjoy.

madeleine baking

I preferred the madeleines I brushed with the honey-syrup to the ones I glazed with the lemon-icing (I thought they were more moist), whereas my sister preferred vice versa. We both, however, agreed these are delicious dunked in tea (as they should be). Everyone's preferences are unique to themselves, so play around with the recipe while keeping the basic ratios and find what you can jazz to! 

recipe adapted from yasmine's kitchen.
yield: about 20 madeleines

what do i need?
75g (2.65oz) butter
2 tablespoons honey
110g (3.90oz or 3/4c) AP flour
4g (.15oz or 1 teaspoon) baking powder
2g (.05oz or 1/2 teaspoon) salt
2 eggs, room temperature (mine were fine with eggs straight from the fridge)
1/4 cup white granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Zest of two lemons
1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice


what do i do?
1. Make the brown butter by melting the butter over a med-low flame in a pan where you can see the bottom (i.e. stainless steel). Swirl the pan every now and then. After the butter stops bubbling ferociously and the foam starts to subside, keep an eye on it because the milk solids will begin to brown. Remove from flame and place on cooler surface when golden-brown.
2. Mix the honey into the brown butter. Add the lemon zest and juice to the same mixture. Set aside.
3. In a smaller bowl, sift together the all purpose flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
4. Take a slightly larger bowl and crack in the eggs. Add the sugar, and whisk until much paler in color and light, thick (almost fluffy). Carefully mix in the flour mixture, and then incorporate the butter mixture.
5. Cover the batter with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1-3 hours.
6. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
7. Butter (I brushed with melted butter) and flour the madeleine pan(s) thoroughly.** Fill 3/4 way.
8. Bake for 8-12 minutes, or until the center of the humps are spongy/springy.
9. Remove from oven, and allow to cool in pan for 2 minutes. Take the madeleines out onto a baking sheet and let cool further.* Or, you know. Just stuff them in your face. I won't judge you.

*madeleines are best eaten fresh, so if you plan to keep them for a few days make sure to store them in an airtight container.
**I, personally, think that they would have turned out much prettier if I hadn’t floured the pan, and had only buttered them. It’s up to you.

Cookie or cake? The world may never know.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

